Cricket was only played in Kathmandu until 1980 among Rana aristocrats, after 1980’s cricket reached out to the border cities of Nepal, Biratnagar, Rajbiraj Janakpur, Birgunj and Nepalgunj and remains to be most popular and most played sports in these cities. Numerous regional and district level tournaments were organized during the 1990s and early 2000s and Biratnagar dominated Nepal cricket with numerous trophies and giving different international players who played crucial role to take Nepal cricket to different height and shaped Nepal cricket.

Biratnagar cricket team had momentous achievements and stellar performances in past. It gave players like Manish Raj Pandey, Paras Luniya, Amir Akhtar, Raj Kumar Pradhan, Navin Ghimire, Manjeet Shrestha, Unil Shrestha and Yashwant Subedi who represented Nepal internationally and present players like Lalit Rajbanshi and Siddhant Lohani. Buddhi Bahadur Pradhan, ICC Umpire is also from Biratnagar.

Biratnagar had glorious cricketing past with strong club cricket and Biratnagar was synonym to Nepal cricket, which is something that cricketers and supporter of Biratnagar Cricket still cherish and this glorious history unites cricketers and supporters of Biratnagar. Biratnagar once the powerhouse of the Nepal cricket, gave numerous talented players who represented the country in numerous occasions. Youth Cricket Club (YCC) of Biratnagar had it marked in both regional and national cricket scene of Nepal.